Bath and Bristol Mindfulness CoursesBlog

Yakety Yak - do talk back!

The Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta 9.

So finally we come to the last Dhamma section – the four noble truths. This may seem a little strange because the four noble truths are themselves a summary of the entire Buddhist path and essentially cover all of the material we have looked at within the Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta during this last year. It is as if we have come to the end and the end consists of the whole journey again.


The Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta 8.

The Awakening Factors
It seems that so much of the Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta has been about being mindful of our crazy mind and all the powerfully detrimental impulses and reactions that pass through it. Here, with the introduction of the seven awakening factors, bojjhaṅga, – mindfulness, investigation, energy, joy, tranquility, concentration and equanimity – we have reached a seam of some of the amazing mind states that may be inhabited.


The Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta 7.

The Sense Spheres satipaṭṭhāna explores how we add unnecessary ‘stories’ to our experience of ourselves, others and the world around us. It also gives an alternative break down of how we function, this time primarily focusing on the interaction of our senses with the environment and how these interactions are received and (mis)interpreted.


The Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta 6.

The Buddhist Background To Mindfulness The Satipaṭṭhāna Sutta 6. Mindfulness of Dhammas: The Aggregates On a personal note finally understanding what the Buddha was getting at with his concept of the aggregates was one of my bigger “Ah-ha” moments. This satipaṭṭhāna is incredibly important because it concerns not just my body, feelings or mind, but […]